Chippewa, Rusk, La Crosse among counties awarded TAD program grants

MADISON, Wis. (WEAU) -- More than a dozen counties in the state have been awarded grants to help keep drug abusers and non-violent offenders from re-offending.

Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen says 13 counties, including five here in the western part of the state have been awarded grants for the "Treatment Alternatives and Diversion" program, also known as "TAD." Van Hollen says these programs improve public safety, while also meeting the needs of people with a history of substance abuse.

He says 81% of those who graduated from the program didn't have any new convictions after three years.
MADISON, Wis. (OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL NEWS RELEASE) — Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen has announced grant awards to 13 counties and one tribe for the establishment of specialty court and pre-trial diversion projects. The funding is part of the Treatment Alternatives and Diversion program, also known as “TAD,” and is used by counties to establish programs to address non-violent offenders at higher risk of re-offending. Through a highly competitive application process, 13 counties and one Indian tribe of Wisconsin were selected to receive grant funding to establish local projects.

“I’m pleased we’re able to expand this cost-efficient and highly effective program into other counties,” Attorney General Van Hollen said. “These programs improve public safety, reduce recidivism and ensure accountability while meeting the needs of offenders with a history of substance abuse.”

Through rigorous program evaluation, the TAD program has proven to be effective at both increasing public safety while also reducing costs of local criminal justice systems. Eighty-one percent of TAD graduates did not have any new convictions after three years and 97% of TAD graduates stayed out of state prison after completing their TAD program. While greatly reducing these recidivism rates, local TAD projects also save on average $1.93 for every one dollar invested.

A 15-member peer review panel assessed proposals from 22 applicants for the latest round of TAD funding (2013 Wisconsin Act 197). Based on the recommendations of the review panel, the successful projects will be located in the following areas.

Brown County $139,006
Chippewa County $91,236
Fond du Lac County $46,807
Grant County $101,840
Iowa County $60,648
Jackson County $98,439
La Crosse County $147,268
Marquette County $112,171
Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin $148,710
Outagamie County $157,825
Ozaukee County $95,120
Racine County $92,494
Rusk County $122,436
Taylor County $86,000

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WEAU 13 NEWS 1907 S. Hastings Way Eau Claire, WI 54701 By Phone: Main Number (715) 835-1313 and (715) 832-3474. Tip Line (715) 839-WEAU - (715) 839-9328 Sports Line (715) 852-1537
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 264409791 -
Gray Television, Inc.