Elections board recommends denying 6 for ballot

By: AP Email
By: AP Email

MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Six candidates for the state Legislature should not be allowed on the ballot.

That is the recommendation of staff at the state elections board.

The Government Accountability Board was meeting Tuesday to vote on certifying candidates for the Aug. 12 primary. Seventeen candidates had their nomination papers challenged.

Board staff say 11 of them should be allowed on the ballot despite the challenges, but six should be denied access.

Those six include Democratic candidate Ollie Dombrow and Republican Russell Goodwin in Milwaukee's 12th Assembly District.

The others are Democrat Steve Gulasky in the 42nd Assembly District, Democrat Justin Krueger in the 3rd Assembly District, independent William Thompkins III in the 21st Senate District and Green Party candidate Michael LaForest in the 47th Assembly District.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WEAU 13 NEWS 1907 S. Hastings Way Eau Claire, WI 54701 By Phone: Main Number (715) 835-1313 and (715) 832-3474. Tip Line (715) 839-WEAU - (715) 839-9328 Sports Line (715) 852-1537
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 262539941 - weau.com/a?a=262539941
Gray Television, Inc.