Wisconsin Title I Schools of Recognition

By  | 

MADISON (WEAU) — State Superintendent Tony Evers announced 167 Wisconsin Title I School of Recognition awards for the 2013-14 academic year, an honor that recognizes success in educating students from low-income families.

“What a great way to start the school year,” Evers said. “By recognizing
schools for their success at educating our students, we put the focus where it belongs: on our children.”

All award-winning schools receive federal Title I funding to provide
services to high numbers or high percentages of economically disadvantaged children. Schools received awards in three categories:
High-Achieving, High-Progress, and Beating the Odds based on specific

This year’s 167 Wisconsin Title I School of Recognition Award recipients include 14 High-Achieving and 26 High-Progress schools. Six schools earned awards in both the High-Achieving and High-Progress categories.

Overall, 131 elementary schools, 23 middle or junior high schools, and 13 high schools earned awards.

The state superintendent will host an awards program at the State Capitol on Oct. 8 to further recognize Wisconsin Title I School of Recognition award recipients. Each school will receive a plaque and $500 for use by the school.

During the awards ceremony, nine schools will receive flags for earning the Wisconsin Title I School of
Recognition award for five consecutive years, and five schools will receive banners for earning the award for
10 consecutive years. One school — Marengo Valley School in the Ashland School District — has earned the award
for all 11 years of the program.

“The staff and administration of these schools are committed to breaking the link between poverty and
low academic achievement through rigorous programming and attention to student needs,” Evers said. “The
partnerships these schools create among teachers, parents, administrators, other school staff members, and the
community provide an educational environment that supports children’s learning so our students graduate college
and career ready.”

A list of Wisconsin Title I School of Recognition award recipients follows. The number after a school name
indicates the consecutive years the school has received the recognition award.

High-Achieving & High-Progress Schools

Fort Atkinson Barrie Elementary School
Hamilton, Sussex Lannon Elementary School, 2
Hudson Houlton Elementary School
Mukwonago Prairie View Elementary School, North Prairie, 2
Norway J7 Drought Elementary School
Wauwatosa Wilson Elementary School

High-Progress & Beating the Odds Schools

Tigerton Tigerton Elementary School, 5
West Allis-West Milwaukee Pershing Elementary School

High-Achieving Schools

Germantown Rockfield Elementary School, 2
Hamilton, Sussex Hamilton High School
Merton Community Merton Intermediate School
Sauk Prairie, Sauk City Merrimac Community Charter School, 2
South Shore, Port Wing South Shore Junior/Senior High School, 10
Weyauwega-Fremont Fremont Elementary School, 2
Whitefish Bay Whitefish Bay High School
Wrightstown Community Wrightstown Middle School

High-Progress Schools

Blair-Taylor SoSET Charter School, 2
Chetek-Weyerhaeuser Area Roselawn Elementary School, 2
Crandon Crandon Elementary School
Galesville-Ettrick-Trempealeau Ettrick Elementary School
Highland Highland Community Elementary School
Hilbert Hilbert Elementary School
Janesville Roosevelt Elementary School
Lodi Lodi Elementary School
Milwaukee Public Schools Milwaukee German Immersion School
North Lakeland, Manitowish Waters North Lakeland Elementary School
Oshkosh Area Webster Stanley Elementary School
Prentice Ogema Elementary School, 2
Rice Lake Area Haugen Elementary School Jefferson Elementary School
Richland, Richland Center Jefferson Elementary School, 2
Waunakee Community Heritage Elementary School
Weston, Cazenovia Weston High School
Williams Bay Williams Bay High School

Beating the Odds Schools

Abbotsford Abbotsford Middle/Senior High School, 9
Adams-Friendship Area Grand Marsh Elementary School, 2 Roche-A-Cri Elementary School, 2
Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan Lincoln Elementary School Lincoln Junior High School, 7
Almond-Bancroft Almond Elementary School, 7

The comment sections of our web set are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from the viewers but we are not obligated to post comments we feel inappropriate or violate our guidelines. Here are some of the criteria you should follow when posting comments:

Comments cannot be profane or vulgar. Children and families visit this site. We will delete comments that use profanity or cross the lines of good taste.

We will delete all comments using hate speech. Slurs, stereotypes and violent talk aren’t welcome on our web site.

Comments should not attack other readers personally.

We will delete comments we deem offensive, in bad taste, or out of bounds. We are not obligated to post comments that are rude or insensitive.

We do not edit user-submitted comments.

As a host WEAU 13 News welcomes a wide spectrum of opinions. However, we have a responsibility to all our readers to try to keep our comment section fair and decent. For that reason WEAU 13 News reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus