WEAU | Eau Claire, Wisconsin | News

Wisconsin Teens Could Lose Cell Phone Use While Driving

The state legislature is considering a ban that would prevent new teen drivers from using a cell phone while driving.

The ban would apply to drivers under 18 who have an instruction permit or are within the first nine months of holding a probationary license.

Those caught talking and driving would face a $50.00 fine for the first offense and $100.00 fines for subsequent offenses.

A Wisconsin AAA spokesman says teens make up 7% of licensed drivers but 14% of driving fatalities.

Supporters point to studies that show that teen drivers are more easily distracted by cell phones than adults.

But some parents fear the measure might make it harder for them to reach their kids. Others say any cell phone ban should apply to everyone, not just novice drivers.


WEAU 13 NEWS 1907 S. Hastings Way Eau Claire, WI 54701 By Phone: Main Number (715) 835-1313 and (715) 832-3474. Tip Line (715) 839-WEAU - (715) 839-9328 Sports Line (715) 852-1537
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 2040237