Three counties in Wisconsin receive $13 million in disaster relief

By: AP Email
By: AP Email

SUPERIOR, Wis. (AP) -- Three counties in far northern Wisconsin will receive nearly $13 million in disaster relief following major flood damage from the summer.

The majority is going to Douglas County, which will get $11.6 million. Another $800,000 will go Bayfield County in conjunction with the Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa. Ashland County will get $275,000.

The funds are from the Federal Emergency Management Agency. The money will be used to repair damage from storms in June that caused significant flooding in places like Superior and Duluth, Minn.

Superior is one of 49 communities receiving aid. The city is getting $1.6 million, not including funds to cover the University of Wisconsin-Superior.

A Wisconsin Public Radio report ( ) says state and local governments each have to match 12.5 percent of FEMA's aid.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
WEAU 13 NEWS 1907 S. Hastings Way Eau Claire, WI 54701 By Phone: Main Number (715) 835-1313 and (715) 832-3474. Tip Line (715) 839-WEAU - (715) 839-9328 Sports Line (715) 852-1537
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 176108801 -
Gray Television, Inc.