Stratford, Aquinas, West Salem Win State

Western Wisconsin lays claim to all four WIAA state football championships won Thursday at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison. Leading the way, the Stratford Tigers, who became the first high school in state history to win five consecutive state football championships with their 28-7 win over Iola-Scandinavia in the Division 6 title game.

In Division 5, the La Crosse Aquinas Blugolds used a 20-point second quarter to help shutout defending D-5 runner-up Kewaunee 27-0 to bring a title home to La Crosse.

Not to be outdone, their friends down the road in West Salem jumped out to a 38-0 halftime lead as the Panthers won their first state football championship in school history, crushing Kettle Moraine Lutheran 52-14.