Badgers Fall in Big Ten Championship

Ron Lewis had 17 points and Greg Oden added 12 for Ohio State (30-3), which also won the 2002 tournament in Indianapolis. Kammron Taylor and Alando Tucker had 15 and 10 points, respectively, to lead Wisconsin (29-5). Jason Bohannon chipped in nine.

Ohio State has won 17 in a row since losing to Wisconsin in Madison back on Jan. 9. The Buckeyes have won 30 games for the first time in school history and are a lock for a No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament, which starts Tuesday. The Badgers take second for the second time at the tournament and are likely to be a No. 2 seed.

Wisconsin opened the game 1-of-11 from the field and had 12 turnovers in the first half. Ohio State scored 12 points off those turnovers and led 26-20 at the break. Conley Jr. was 5-of-7 from the field in the opening half and had 12 points.

Oden played just six minutes of the first half after picking up two fouls. He didn’t attempt a shot in the period and had just two boards. He had eight rebounds in the second half and finished 5-of-9 from the field.

Bohannon got the Badgers going with a deep 3 halfway through the first half. The freshman had seven points before the break. Tucker scored all seven of his first-half points in the final four minutes.

Ohio State scored on its first four possessions of the second half and led 34-23 on a putback by Oden. Greg Stiemsma rejected the 7-footer on the next possession and hit a 15-foot jumper on the offensive end. Taylor followed suit with a jumper in the lane and Bohannon found Marcus Landry for an easy two to complete the 6-0 run.

After a bucket inside by Oden, Taylor hit his first 3-pointer and pulled Wisconsin within four, 36-32, with 14 minutes remaining.

But Wisconsin finished 4-of-23 from behind the arc and it cost them down the stretch. The Buckeyes used a 13-2 run late and took a 66-47 lead with just over two minutes left to play. Lewis hit a 3-pointer during the rally and Jamar Butler delivered the dagger with a deep 3 with the shot clock winding down. OSU was 6-of-16 from 3-point range.

Tucker and Taylor were named to the Big Ten All-Tournament team following the contest. Oden and Conley Jr. were also selected to the team as was Purdue’s Carl Landry. Oden was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

WEAU 13 NEWS 1907 S. Hastings Way Eau Claire, WI 54701 By Phone: Main Number (715) 835-1313 and (715) 832-3474. Tip Line (715) 839-WEAU - (715) 839-9328 Sports Line (715) 852-1537
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6429737 -
Gray Television, Inc.