Badgers Repeat as NCAA Champs

Four different Badgers scored as the No. 1 Wisconsin women’s hockey team defeated Minnesota Duluth 4-1 Sunday afternoon in the NCAA Frozen Four championship game at Herb Brooks Arena to claim the team’s second straight NCAA title.

Although she finally allowed a goal in the Frozen Four, sophomore Jessie Vetter stopped 17 shots to earn her 20th win of the season. Vetter allowed just one goal on 39 shots in the Frozen Four.

Named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player, senior Sara Bauer tallied six points in the Frozen Four. Bauer recorded three assists in the semifinal game and one goal and two assists in the championship contest.

In the opening period, Jinelle Zaugg scored Wisconsin’s first goal on a power play opportunity. Three skaters tallied goals in the second frame for UW including: Erika Lawler, Bauer and Jasmine Giles.

The win tied UW’s record-setting 26-game unbeaten streak.

The women’s hockey team is the first UW program to repeat as NCAA champions since women’s cross country won the title in 1984 and 1985. The women’s lightweight rowing team has won three straight championships, however the NCAA does not sponsor the sport.

With the win, the Badgers broke or tied six NCAA single-season team records: most wins (36), best winning percentage (.927), fewest losses (1), home wins (19), fewest goals allowed per game (0.88) and lowest goals against average (0.85).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus