Ducks Raise Lord Stanley's Cup

The Ducks are Stanley Cup champs for the first time after completing a five-game finals, defeating the Ottawa Senators 6-to-2. The Ducks allowed just 13 shots and grabbed the lead for good when Andy McDonald notched a power-play goal just three-41 into a goal.

Travis Moen scored twice, including the eventual game-winner that put the Ducks ahead 3-to-1 in the second period. Moen also scored the game-winner in the series opener.

McDonald and Corey Perry each finished with a goal and an assist to support J.S. Giguere who blanked the Senators until Daniel Alfredsson scored twice in the second period. Giguere also stopped Antoine Vermette on a penalty shot in the third period to preserve a 5-to-2 lead.

Scott Niedermayer was named the Conn Smythe (smyth) Trophy as the most valuable player in the playoffs.

WEAU 13 NEWS 1907 S. Hastings Way Eau Claire, WI 54701 By Phone: Main Number (715) 835-1313 and (715) 832-3474. Tip Line (715) 839-WEAU - (715) 839-9328 Sports Line (715) 852-1537
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7875992 -
Gray Television, Inc.