CVGA Cadott Open Results

Whispering Pines Golf Course
Par 72

71 Mike Greer, Eau Claire (18 CVGA points)

72 Todd Anderson, Osseo; Neil Johnson, River Falls; Scott Skogen, Onalaska (15 pts. each)

73 Steve Jensen, Eau Claire; Jarod Leslie, Eau Claire; Andy Seidler, Mosinee (12 pts. each)

74 Ed Larson, Mosinee (10 pts.)

75 Chris Anderson, Osseo; Paul Meyer, Somerset; Chad Fortney, West Salem; Duaine Olson, Luck; Andrew Longbella, Chippewa Falls; Bill Wachtendonk, Neillsville; Brian Tarnowski; Tony Meierhofer, Ham Lake, Minn.; Steve Vasel, Eau Claire (8 pts. each)

76 Troy Shea, Menomonie; Aaron Olson, Chetek; David Leslie, Cadott; Joe Schoolmeesters, Litchfield, Minn. (7 pts. each)

77 Brian Anderson, Eau Claire; Ben Sieg, Osseo; Dan Koskey, Richfield, Minn.; Matt Wahl, Eau Claire; Eric Stabenow, Eau Claire; Jim Brinker, Stanley; Greg Johnson, Black River Falls; Brian Seiwert, St. Louis Park, Minn.; Eric Rolland, Rogers, Minn. (6 pts. each)

78 Joe Daly, Owatonna, Minn.; Joey Polingo, Litchfield, Minn.; Dean Wojtczak, Cadott; Mark Sperling, Lakeville, Minn.; Steve Kessler, Neillsville (5 pts. each)

79 Mark Asplund, Wausau; Mason Milner, Onalaska; Jeff Nechos, Otsego, Minn.; Archie Sherbinow, Chippewa Falls; Patrick Porte, Hopkins, Minn.; Josh Fizel, Eau Claire; Scott Seidler (4 pts. each)

80 Jason Jorgensen, Onalaska; Cory Olson, Maplewood, Minn.; Steve Sazama; Steve Feldman, St. Louis Park, Minn.; Chris Longbella, Chippewa Falls; Jeff Raaen, Savage, Minn.; Ryan Schullo, Spooner; Greg Van Pelt, Mondovi (3 pts. each)

81 Mark Barstad, Eau Claire; Steve Cermak, Eau Claire; Harun Sapmaz, Bloomington, Minn.; Jamie Krula, Chippewa Falls; Jared Naegli, Edina, Minn. (2 pts. each)

82 Ren Jungck, Onalaska; Justin Zich, Fall Creek; Dave McCook, Hastings, Minn.; Tommy Nimmo, Plymouth, Minn.; Paul Simenson, Ankeny, Iowa (one point each)
Mike Greer, who won his first CVGA event at the Cadott Open last year, shot a one-under par 71 to win the same event for the second year in a row Saturday at Whispering Pines Golf Course in Cadott.

Greer, a former UW-Eau Claire Blugold golfer out of Vadnais Heights, Minn., was two over par after 11 holes Saturday, but birdied three of the last seven holes to complete a one-stroke victory over Todd Anderson of Eau Claire, Neil Johnson of River Falls and Scott Skogen of Onalaska.

Johnson had won the last two CVGA events, at Clifton Highlands in Prescott three weeks ago and at Mill Run in Eau Claire two weeks ago.

Steve Jensen and Jarod Leslie of Eau Claire and Andy Seidler of Mosinee each shot one-over par 73 to tie for fifth place. Ed Larson of Mosinee took eighth place with a 74. And Steve Vasel of Eau Claire, Andrew Longbella of Chippewa Falls, Chris Anderson of Osseo, Bill Wachtendonk of Neillsville, Duaine Olson of Luck, Chad Fortney of West Salem, Paul Meyer of Somerset and Brian Tarnowski and Tony Meierhofer, both of Minnesota, all shot 75 to finish in a nine-way log-jam for ninth place.

Jensen used an eagle on the par-4 11th hole to aid in his second straight top five finish at Whispering Pines. Leslie and Skogen both eagled the par-5 eighth hole. Troy Shea of Menomonie eagled the par-4 17th hole on his way to shooting a four-over par 76, which earned him a tie for 18th place. Joe Schoolmeesters of Litchfield, Minn. made an eagle on the par-five fifth hole on his way finishing in that tie for 18th at 76.

And Ben Sieg of Osseo made a hole-in-one at the par-3, 118-yard 15th hole to help him shoot a five-over par 77, earning him a tie for 22nd place.

At last year's Cadott Open, Greer was the only player out of the field of 56 to break par. And Saturday Greer was the only player out of the field of 82 to break par.

In all, 42 of the 82 players broke 80 Saturday.
With his second-place finish, Neil Johnson extended his lead in the season-long CVGA points race. Johnson now has 117 points. He is followed by Mark Sperling of Lakeville, Minn. with 76 points and Eric Stabenow of Eau Claire and Joel Johnson, both with 58 points.

WEAU 13 NEWS 1907 S. Hastings Way Eau Claire, WI 54701 By Phone: Main Number (715) 835-1313 and (715) 832-3474. Tip Line (715) 839-WEAU - (715) 839-9328 Sports Line (715) 852-1537
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8374782 -
Gray Television, Inc.