Izzy Balsiger named to All-WIAC Wrestling first team

MADISON, Wis.--The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) has announced its All-Conference Team for the 2012-13 season based on a vote conducted by the league coaches.

In order to be eligible for the All-Conference Team, individuals must have wrestled in a minimum of four conference dual-matches at that weight class, inclusive of the conference championship.

2012-13 All-WIAC Wrestling Team
First Team
Weight Class, Name, School, Year, Hometown (High School)
125--Izzy Balsiger, La Crosse, Freshman, Chippewa Falls, Wis.
133--Grant Sutter, Whitewater, Sophomore, Dodgeville, Wis.
141--Adam Sheley, La Crosse, Senior, Geneseo, Ill.
149--Ben Strobel, Stevens Point, Senior, Neenah, Wis.
157--JR Lewis, La Crosse, Senior, Greenfield, Wis.
165--Nazar Kulchytskyy, Oshkosh, Junior, Sosnivka, Ukraine (Prairie du Chien, Wis.)
174--Kevin O’Brien, La Crosse, Junior, Becker, Minn.
184--Eric Twohey, La Crosse, Sophomore, Stewartville, Minn.
197--Dustin Wozniak, Stevens Point, Senior, Stanley, Wis. (Stanley-Boyd)
285--Billy Mayer, La Crosse, Senior, Eden, Wis. (Campbellsport)

Second Team
125--Cole Ferguson, Platteville, New Lenox, Ill. (Providence Catholic)
133--James Bennett, La Crosse, Freshman, Holmen, Wis.
141--Jake Fredricksen, Whitewater, Senior, Woodstock, Ill.
149--Elroy Perkin, Whitewater, Junior, Greenfield, Wis. (Whitnall)
157--Jamey Simmons, Stevens Point, Sophomore, Abbotsford, Wis.
165--Jordan Schulte, Stevens Point, Senior, Mosinee, Wis.
174--Ryan Conat, Stevens Point, Senior, New London, Wis.
184--Mat Rieckhoff, Eau Claire, Junior, Wausau, Wis. (D.C. Everest)
197--Shane Siefert, Whitewater, Freshman, Mundelein, Ill. (Carmel)
285--Anthony Edgren, Whitewater, Sophomore, New Lisbon, Wis.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus