Menomonie's Eric Peissig selected to National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Team

Menomonie High School Linebacker and Offensive Guard Eric Peissig has been selected to the National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Team ( Wisconsin Chapter). Eric was one of the eleven student athletes that will be honored at half time of the Wisconsin Badgers Spring Game on April 20th.

Eric was also one of the three student athletes further selected from the eleven man team to receive one of the Wisconsin Football Foundation Scholarships. Eric will be receiving a plaque and a $1,000 scholarship award on the 20th at the Badgers Spring Game. There will be a luncheon at Union South for the scholar athlete team along with their family and high school coach.

Eric is the second member of the Peissig family to be named to the Scholar athlete team as his brother Evan was selected in 2005.
Eric has a perfect 4.0 GPA and plans on attending the University of Wisconsin. Eric was a two time All Big Rivers Player at Linebacker and this past season was the only player in the BRC to be named first team All-Conference on both Offense and Defense as he was also named first team as an Offensive Guard. Eric was also one of the Captains for the Menomonie football team this past fall. Eric was also a state Champion wrestler this past Winter.

The eleven man team is selected on criteria of Academic achievement, Football accomplishments, Character, and community service. Each nominee is required to write an essay on their football experience and also summit a letter of recommendation from their football coach and a school administrator.

Menomonie High School has had more student Athletes named to the National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Team ( Wisconsin Chapter) than any other school in the state. Past winners: Ryan Thomas, Justin Walker, Nate Cody, David Cruz, Mike Gust, Andy Miller, Evan Peissig, Alex Quilling.*

2012-2013 Wisconsin Football Foundation Scholar Athlete "Team"
1.) A.J. Day Lancaster High School

2.) Eric Kittel Brillion High School

3.) Tim Landgraf Edgewood High School

4.) Mitchell Ledwith Neenah High School

5.) Parker Lyga Cochane-Fountain City High School

6.) Luke Mroczenski Athens High School

7.) Kellen Murphy Lake Mills High School

8.) Austin Schaffer Hilbert High School

9.) Issac Franson Hayward High School*** Scholarship

10.) Brett Minick Deforest High School*** Scholarship

11.) Eric Peissig Menomonie High School*** Scholarship

The comment sections of our web set are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from the viewers but we are not obligated to post comments we feel inappropriate or violate our guidelines. Here are some of the criteria you should follow when posting comments:

Comments cannot be profane or vulgar. Children and families visit this site. We will delete comments that use profanity or cross the lines of good taste.

We will delete all comments using hate speech. Slurs, stereotypes and violent talk aren’t welcome on our web site.

Comments should not attack other readers personally.

We will delete comments we deem offensive, in bad taste, or out of bounds. We are not obligated to post comments that are rude or insensitive.

We do not edit user-submitted comments.

As a host WEAU 13 News welcomes a wide spectrum of opinions. However, we have a responsibility to all our readers to try to keep our comment section fair and decent. For that reason WEAU 13 News reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus