Milwaukee Hamilton's Looney is AP player of year

By  | 

MILWAUKEE (AP) -- Milwaukee Hamilton senior forward Kevon Looney has been named the Wisconsin Associated Press boys basketball player of the year.

Looney led the Wildcats to their first Milwaukee City Conference title since 2010. The Wildcats finished the regular season with 14 straight wins before losing to West Allis Central in the regional final.

Looney, a UCLA recruit, averaged 27.9 points, 12.7 rebounds, seven assists and eight blocks per game and earned his second City Conference player of the year award.

Also on the AP's first team are Rice Lake's Henry Ellenson, Diamond Stone of Whitefish Bay Dominican, Seymour's Sandy Cohen and Riley LaChance of Brookfield Central.

Brown Deer's Kelly Appleby was named AP coach of the year. Appleby's Falcons claimed the Woodland East title and won the WIAA Division 3 title.

First team

x - Kevon Looney, 6-9, sr., F, Milwaukee Hamilton

x -Henry Ellenson, 6-10, jr., F, Rice Lake

x - Diamond Stone, 6-10, jr., F/C, Whitefish Bay Dominican

Sandy Cohen, 6-6, sr., G, Seymour

Riley LaChance, 6-2, sr., G, Brookfield Central

Second team

Trevor Anderson, 6-2, soph., G, Stevens Point

Brady Ellingson, 6-4, sr., G, Sussex Hamilton

Matt Heldt, 6-10, jr., C, Neenah

Jordan Shea, 6-4, sr., G, Lodi

Cam Ward, 6-2, sr., G, Marshall

Third team

D'Angelo Jackson, 6-4, sr., G, Racine Case

Paul Miller, 6-4, sr., G, Kettle Moraine

Jordan Perez, 6-4, sr., G, Greendale

Adam Pohlman, 6-0, sr., G, Neenah

Reed Timmer, 6-2, sr., G, New Berlin Eisenhower

Fourth team

Chandler Diekvoss, 6-6, sr., G, West De Pere

Sam Hauser, 6-5, soph., Stevens Point

Chris Howell, 6-4, sr., F, Milwaukee King

Kyle Monroe, 6-5, jr., G/F, Ashwaubenon

Darrlyn Willis, 6-7, sr., F, Madison Memorial

(x) - unanimous selection

The comment sections of our web set are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from the viewers but we are not obligated to post comments we feel inappropriate or violate our guidelines. Here are some of the criteria you should follow when posting comments:

Comments cannot be profane or vulgar. Children and families visit this site. We will delete comments that use profanity or cross the lines of good taste.

We will delete all comments using hate speech. Slurs, stereotypes and violent talk aren’t welcome on our web site.

Comments should not attack other readers personally.

We will delete comments we deem offensive, in bad taste, or out of bounds. We are not obligated to post comments that are rude or insensitive.

We do not edit user-submitted comments.

As a host WEAU 13 News welcomes a wide spectrum of opinions. However, we have a responsibility to all our readers to try to keep our comment section fair and decent. For that reason WEAU 13 News reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus