Neillsville's Lindner named to AP girls first team

By  | 

MILWAUKEE (AP) -- Divine Savior Holy Angels junior Arike Ogunbowale has been named Wisconsin Associated Press girls basketball player of the year for the second year in a row.

Ogunbowale led DSHA to its first conference title as well as its first sectional berth since 2010. The 5-foot-9 guard/forward averaged 22.7 points, 12.2 rebounds, 3.9 assists and 2.9 steals per game for a team that went 20-5.

Ogunbowale edged Racine Prairie senior Gabrielle Ortiz for the honor.

Also on the first team are Jenny Lindner of Neillsville, Superior's Jessica Lindstrom and Allie LeClaire of Green Bay Notre Dame.

Oak Creek's Steve Hluchnik was voted Wisconsin AP coach of the year. Hluchnik led Oak Creek to the first basketball state championship -- boys or girls -- in the school's history.

First team

x- Arike Ogunbowale, 5-9, jr., G/F, Divine Savior Holy Angels

x- Gabrielle Ortiz, 5-7, sr., G, Racine Prairie

x- Jenny Lindner, 6-0, sr., G, Neillsville

Jessica Lindstrom, 6-2, sr., F, Superior

Allie LeClaire, 5-9, sr., G, Green Bay Notre Dame

Second team

Frankie Wurtz , 5-8, jr., G, Kimberly

Carly Mohns, 6-1, sr., F, Brodhead

Kayla Goth, 6-1, jr., W, DeForest

Stephanie Kostowicz, 6-2, sr., F, Oak Creek

Allazia Blockton, 5-9, jr., F, Whitefish Bay Dominican

Third team

Kelly Smith, 6-1, sr., G, Arrowhead

Tamya Sims, 6-2, sr., F, Oak Creek

Maya Jonas, 6-2, sr., G, Whitefish Bay

Kelli Schrauth, 5-11, jr., F, Fond du Lac St. Mary's Springs

McKenna Larsen, 5-7, sr., G, Oconto Falls

Fourth team

Mikayla Voigt, 5-9, jr., G, Kettle Moraine Lutheran

Chloe Wanink, 5-7, jr., G, Cameron

Jen Wellnitz, 5-8, sr., G, Black Hawk

Megan Gustafson, 6-3, jr., F, South Shore

Lydia Rhode, 5-10, sr., G, Brookfield Central

(x) - unanimous selection

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus