UW-Stout Claims First-Ever Women’s Golf Championship

WISCONSIN RAPIDS, Wis.--University of Wisconsin-Stout captured the 2012 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Women’s Golf Championship after three days of competition at Bull’s Eye Country Club. With the victory the Blue Devils claimed the conference’s automatic bid into the NCAA Division III Championship that will be conducted May 14-17, 2013, in Destin, Fla.

The conference title for the Blue Devils is the first in program history. UW-Stout entered the final 18 holes of competition facing an 11-stroke deficit to UW-Whitewater and finished the 54-hole event with 1024 strokes. UW-Whitewater placed second with 1025 strokes, while three-time defending champion UW-Eau Claire took third with 1026 strokes. UW-River Falls finished fourth with 1073 strokes, UW-Platteville fifth with 1088, UW-Stevens Point sixth with 1130 and UW-Oshkosh seventh with 1145.

Individually, UW-Stout’s Brittany McNett-Emmerich captured medalist honors in the 48-player field with a 54-hole total of 234 strokes. She is the first individual in program history to secure earn medalist distinction at the league event.

UW-Eau Claire’s Catherine Wagner placed second with 246 strokes, while teammate Kate Engler was third with 248. UW-Whitewater’s Nicole Westcott took fourth with 250 and UW-Stevens Point’s McKenna Prestigiacomo fifth with 251. UW-Platteville’s Kellsey Welter and UW-River Falls’ Gillian McDonald tied for sixth with 254. A four-way tie for eighth-place at 257 strokes included UW-Platteville’s Kelsey Lieving, UW-Stout’s Mariah Chesley and UW-Whitewater’s Sarah Bregant and Sammie Leibham.

UW-Stout head coach Howie Samb was selected the Coach of the Year by the league coaches. He won the award for the second straight year and third time in the last four seasons.

UW-Whitewater’s Catherine Hiltenbrand recorded only the second hole-in-one in 17-year history of the WIAC championship. She aced the 131-yard eighth hole using an 8-iron. UW-Stevens Point’s Leah Haas recorded the previous hole-in-one at the 1998 championship.

An All-Sportsmanship Team was chosen for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season. It included one member from each school. Named to the squad were: UW-Eau Claire's Mandi Salo; UW-Oshkosh's Amanda Bingham; UW-Platteville's Kelsey Lieving; UW-River Falls' Paige Cook; UW-Stevens Point's Olivia Schiefelbein; UW-Stout's Meghan Whittaker and UW-Whitewater's Catherine Hiltenbrand.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus