Wisconsin men's basketball coach Bo Ryan named B1G Coach of the Year

MADISON, Wis. -- Wisconsin head coach Bo Ryan was named the Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year as voted on by the league’s media members and coaches, the conference office announced Monday. Senior Jared Berggren was chosen second-team All-Big Ten by the coaches and the media, as well as an All-Big Ten Defensive Team honoree, while Ben Brust and Sam Dekker were each honorable mention selections. Dekker was also named to the Big Ten’s All-Freshman Team.

Ryan, who led the Badgers to their fourth-consecutive season with at least 12 wins in conference play, earns his third Big Ten Coach of the Year honor. Despite enduring multiple roadblocks, including the loss of starting point guard Josh Gasser to a season-ending ACL injury in October, Ryan guided the Badgers to their 12th-straight top-4 finish in the Big Ten. Ryan now joins elite company as he trails only legendary head coaches Gene Keady of Purdue (7) and Bob Knight of Indiana (5) for most conference coach of the year awards.

Wisconsin, who was selected to finish in the bottom half of the 2012-13 conference standings by many, defied expectations once again this season. Ryan guided the Badgers to their seventh-consecutive 20-win season and helped UW earn its 13th-straight bye in the first round of the Big Ten tournament.

Berggren, who is one of just four players to finish the season among the Big Ten’s top-25 scorers and top-10 rebounders, earns conference recognition for the second year in a row. After leading the league in blocks per game (2.0) and eclipsing the top spot in UW annals for career blocks (134), the Princeton, Minn., native also earned a spot on the Big Ten’s All-Defensive Team.

In being named to the Big Ten All-Defensive Team, UW has now had an All-Defensive Team selection in six of the last seven years, joining Michael Flowers (2007 and 2008), Joe Krabbenhoft (2008), Trévon Hughes (2010), Jordan Taylor (2011) and Josh Gasser (2012).

A midseason finalist for the Naismith Award, Berggren averaged 11.5 points and 7.1 rebounds per game. He also posted three double-doubles this season and reached double figures in scoring 20 times.

Berggren was also the Badgers’ recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, which honors individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Brust earns the first conference accolades of his career thanks to an 11.3 scoring average and a 5.2 rebounding average. In addition, the junior ranks third in the conference in 3-point field goals made per game (2.3) and ninth in 3-point field goal percentage (.394).

The junior guard also has a team-high five double-doubles on the season. Brust’s all-around game surfaced this season as he leads UW in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.0), is second in assists (76) and ranks third in rebounds. Among the Big Ten’s top-20 rebounders, Brust is the only player under 6-foot-4.

Dekker, who was selected to the Big Ten’s All-Freshman Team and was an honorable mention All-Big Ten team selection by the media, averaged 9.7 points and 3.5 rebounds per game off of the bench for UW. Dekker finished the season fourth in the Big Ten in 3-point field goal percentage (.427), while ranking 10th in the conference in field goal percentage (.486) and second among all Big Ten freshmen in that category.

The Sheboygan, Wis., native scored in double figures in seven of UW’s last eight regular season games, averaging 12.6 points and 3.1 rebounds over that span. He also made three starts this season and is one of just four true freshmen to start under Ryan, joining Devin Harris, Alando Tucker and Josh Gasser.

The Badgers open postseason play as the No. 4 seed this Friday at the Big Ten tournament at the United Center in Chicago, Ill. Wisconsin plays at 1:30 p.m. on ESPN and will face the winner of No. 5 Michigan and No. 12 Penn State.

Big Ten Coach of the Year
Bo Ryan (Consensus)

Second-team All-Big Ten
Jared Berggren (Consensus)

Honorable mention All-Big Ten
Ben Brust (Consensus)
Sam Dekker (Media)

Big Ten All-Defensive Team
Jared Berggren

Big Ten All-Freshman Team
Sam Dekker

The comment sections of our web set are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from the viewers but we are not obligated to post comments we feel inappropriate or violate our guidelines. Here are some of the criteria you should follow when posting comments:

Comments cannot be profane or vulgar. Children and families visit this site. We will delete comments that use profanity or cross the lines of good taste.

We will delete all comments using hate speech. Slurs, stereotypes and violent talk aren’t welcome on our web site.

Comments should not attack other readers personally.

We will delete comments we deem offensive, in bad taste, or out of bounds. We are not obligated to post comments that are rude or insensitive.

We do not edit user-submitted comments.

As a host WEAU 13 News welcomes a wide spectrum of opinions. However, we have a responsibility to all our readers to try to keep our comment section fair and decent. For that reason WEAU 13 News reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus