Chippewa Falls wins 1st State Softball Title!

Despite a late rally by Sun Prairie, Chippewa Falls held on to win their first ever state softball title with 4-3 win in the championship game.

The Cardinals took a 3-0 lead in the 3rd inning with RBI's by Kayla Bowe and Evie Schaller. For Schaller, it was her 9th RBI of the tournament. Val Hayes added an RBI in the bottom of the 6th to give Chippewa Falls a 4-0 lead going into the 7th inning.

That is when Sun Prairie rallied as Jenna Dammen and Raylin Betthauser had RBI's to cut the lead to 4-3, but Briana Peterson was retired to end the game and the Cardinals celebrated their first ever state softball title after in their 10th state tournament appearance.

The Cardinals finish their championship season with 28-2 overall record.

The comment sections of our web set are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from the viewers but we are not obligated to post comments we feel inappropriate or violate our guidelines. Here are some of the criteria you should follow when posting comments:

Comments cannot be profane or vulgar. Children and families visit this site. We will delete comments that use profanity or cross the lines of good taste.

We will delete all comments using hate speech. Slurs, stereotypes and violent talk aren’t welcome on our web site.

Comments should not attack other readers personally.

We will delete comments we deem offensive, in bad taste, or out of bounds. We are not obligated to post comments that are rude or insensitive.

We do not edit user-submitted comments.

As a host WEAU 13 News welcomes a wide spectrum of opinions. However, we have a responsibility to all our readers to try to keep our comment section fair and decent. For that reason WEAU 13 News reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus
WEAU 13 NEWS 1907 S. Hastings Way Eau Claire, WI 54701 By Phone: Main Number (715) 835-1313 and (715) 832-3474. Tip Line (715) 839-WEAU - (715) 839-9328 Sports Line (715) 852-1537
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 159322585 -
Gray Television, Inc.