Ag Chat with Bob Bosold - January 11

ALTOONA, Wis. (WEAU) -- President Trump is going to be on the road again next week. On Monday he will be in New Orleans to once again talk to members of the American Farm Bureau Federation at their annual convention. He addressed that group last year and said he would like to come back again so earlier this week he accepted the return invitation from AFBF president Zippy Duval.


Those U.S.-Chinese trade talks this week ended with both sides saying they were "cautiously optimistic" they could get a new trade agreement done soon. According to reports from Data Transmission Network, U.S. trade representative Robert Lighthizer said both sides are considering ways to "achieve fairness, reciprocity and balance" in any new trade deal. What did happen at the end was that China has committed to buy more U.S. agricultural products as well as more energy and manufactured goods." March first is the deadline for reaching an agreement or else tariffs will be re-imposed.

The House moved yesterday to get some movement on re-opening the government. On a vote of 243 to 183, members passed a fiscal year 2019 Ag Appropriation Bill-the same bill the Senate passed last year. But this bill already appears to be dead as it now has no support from Republican leadership in the Senate or from President Trump.

The U.S. Senate has named leaders for more committees during this session of Congress. And once again Senator Pat Roberts of Kansas will chair the committee with Democratic Senator Debbie Stabenow of Michigan returning as ranking member. Roberts said this is his last go 'round though as he will not run for re-election in 2020. Neither of Wisconsin senators serves on the Ag Committee.

In the Wisconsin Assembly, State Representative Gary Tauchen of Bonduel will take over as chair of the Agriculture Committee. Other Republicans on the committee from this area Nancy VanderMeer of Tomah, James Edming of Glen Flora and Treig Pronschinske of Modovi. No Democrats from our area are on the committee. Area Republicans serving on the Rural Development Committee include Nancy Vandermeer, who will be the chair, Bob Kulp of Stratford who will be vice chair and members Romaine Quinn of Rice Lake, Loren Oldenburg of Viroqua and Treig Proschinske. No area Democrats are on that committee either.