ECASD Superintendent Announces Plan to Retire

By  | 

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. -- (NEWS RELEASE) Eau Claire Area School District Superintendent Mary Ann Hardebeck has officially informed the Board of Education of her intent to retire at the end of the 2019-2020 school year on June 30, 2020.

“It is an honor to serve the Eau Claire community. I told the Board I wanted to retire. I am proud of the work we are doing. We will spend the next year and a half taking that work to the next level. I will help
with the transition to the next superintendent. We want a smooth transition because that is what’s good for kids.” Dr. Hardebeck said.

“Even after my retirement from ECASD becomes official, I will keep working on behalf of children and public education.”

Under the leadership of Dr. Hardebeck, who was hired as superintendent in August 2012, the District has been recognized statewide and nationally for its work to promote equity and access to quality instruction.

ECASD ranks number one among the top 10 largest school districts in Wisconsin on the Department of Public Instruction’s school report card.

In addition, the District has been on the Advanced Placement Honor Roll four times in the last six years.

In 2018, ECASD was named a District of Distinction by District Administrator magazine for advancing family-friendly summer school programs that remove barriers and promote access to summer
programming for all students.

The U.S. Department of Education also recently honored the District’s Flynn Elementary School as a Blue-Ribbon School for its student achievement results in closing achievement gaps.

ECASD is a three-time winner of the Wisconsin School Public Relations Association award, which has recognized the District for its communication with families and the community about programming, school operations and its 2016 referendum.

“We would like to thank Dr. Hardebeck for her leadership as the District has made great strides in improving student achievement, narrowing achievement gaps, and increasing postsecondary opportunities for all high school students,” said Joe Luginbill, Board president. “She is known professionally for advancing equity for all students and for building community support for public education. We are grateful for her leadership. Together, the Board and Dr. Hardebeck have sought to
make ECASD a place where families and staff are proud to call home. We will carry this work forward.”

Dr. Hardebeck is a founding member of the Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation and has served on the Boards of the Boys & Girls Club, Literacy Chippewa Valley, and the Chippewa Museum. She has also
been a trustee of the L.E. Phillips Library.

The ECASD School Board will begin searching for the District’s next superintendent in the 2019-2020 school year, with the next superintendent taking over the role starting July 1, 2020.