Amery's Monson 1st, Memorial's Aubrey Roberts 2nd at Big Ten Championship

LINCOLN, Neb (Big Ten) Wisconsin junior Alicia Monson took the individual Big Ten Championship, covering the 6K course in 19:49.3, the fifth-fastest time in meet history and more than nine seconds ahead of runner-up Aubrey Roberts of Northwestern, along with more than 23 seconds clear of third-place finisher Avery Evenson of Michigan. Monson, who won her third race of the season, also became the 11th Badger student to claim Big Ten medalist honors and the first since 2001, when Bethany Brewster took the title.

The Michigan women’s cross country program earned its 12th Big Ten Championship and third in a row on Sunday, registering 57 points and placing all five of its scoring runners in the top 20 at Mahoney Golf Course in Lincoln, Neb. The Wolverines are the first Big Ten squad to win three consecutive Big Ten titles since Michigan won five in a row from 2002-06 — a replay of Sunday’s race will be televised on BTN at 8 p.m. (ET) Monday.

Michigan State finished in second place in the team competition with 75 points and had two runners in the top 10, led by Maggie Farrell, who placed fourth individually with a time of 20:13.7. Wisconsin took third in the team standings (89 points), helped by Monson’s individual title, while Penn State wound up fourth (103) behind its leading finisher, Julia Paternain, who placed 10th in 20:22.9.

Indiana rounded out the top five in the team event with 110 points, with two Hoosiers finishing in the top 10, led by last year’s medalist, Katherine Receveur, who crossed the line in sixth place in 20:14.3.

The All-Big Ten first and second teams are listed below — the top seven finishers at the Big Ten Championships earn first-team all-conference honors, while the runners ending up in places 8-14 are awarded second-team All-Big Ten accolades. The Big Ten Freshman and Coach of the Year, as well as the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipients, will be announced on Tuesday (Oct. 30), while the Big Ten Athlete of the Year will be named on Nov. 20, following the NCAA Championships.

First-Team All-Big Ten
Katherine Receveur, Indiana
Avery Evenson, Michigan
Maggie Farrell, Michigan State
Erin McDonald, Michigan State
Bethany Hasz, Minnesota
Aubrey Roberts, Northwestern
Alicia Monson, Wisconsin

Second-Team All-Big Ten
Margaret Allen, Indiana
Anne Forsyth, Michigan
Hannah Meier, Michigan
Megan Hasz, Minnesota
Julia Paternain, Penn State
Danae Rivers, Penn State
Amy Davis, Wisconsin