Charlotte Akervik named girls hockey Player of the Year

MADISON, Wis. (WEAU) For the second straight year, an ECA Star standout has earned Wisconsin player of the year honors as tonight Charlotte Akervik has was named "Ms. Hockey" at the Wisconsin Girls Hockey Coaches Association awards ceremony Thursday. Abigail Stow won it last year for the the Stars.

Akervik led the stars with 41 points this season with 19 goals and 22 assists..all doing this as a defensemen.

She will continue her career in the division one ranks at Minnesota State University in Mankato.

She is the second Eau Claire North athlete to win player of the year, as Sam Stange took home the award for the boys last night.

Her teammate Ava Kison was selected as first team All-State at forward as wel.