North's Sam Stange wins WHCA Player of the Year

MADISON, Wis. (WEAU) -- Tomorrow Eau Claire North will make it's first state tournament appearance since 2006. That same year, Derek LaPoint took home the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association's Player of the Year award. Tonight, the Huskies were hoping history would repeat itself.

The Huskies standout forward Sam Stange was a finalist for the award and the future Badger can add Player of the Year in the state of Wisconsin to his resume. Stange becoming the second Huskie to win the award with LaPoint in 2006. He is the 5th player from Eau Claire to win the award, as Jake Bresser, Saxton Soley and Jefferson Dahl have won from Memorial as well. Stange scored 67 points in the regular season for the Huskies, adding another 9 points in their three playoff wins including the overtime winner against Hayward in the sectional final.

For Stange, he is proud of what this award means for his team and school.

"It's pretty cool right now, I think it will sink in a little more. To be mentioned with a name like Derek LaPoint, is really cool. It is an individual award but it's not. You can't do it without the rest of the players and coaches. This award doesn't come without having team success as well, it's something I can share with them."

"He has worked hard, Sam has put a lot of time and effort into it in the classroom, on the ice, in the weight room and on the ball field. He put a lot of time and effort into it , it's a great reward for him."